The Online Community Of Christian Geek Central

Wolverines !!!

mikel.withers

Activity : 713
    Geek-Cred : 9

Wolverines !!!

Post  mikel.withers on November 3rd 2016, 11:51 am

So despite, or maybe to spite, the recommendation that I avoid the Marvel series entitled "Wolverines", I recently read through it.
    And because I'm not a review artist, I guess I'll put my thoughts of it down here.

Time-after the death of Wolverine. These people who were made by a Weapon X project scientist who got killed have a genetic time bomb that will kill them within a year. So they kidnap some of Wolverine's old enemies who have a healing factor in an attempt to use that healing factor to heal them... or get something to heal them... (the author doesn't make it clear enough for me to quite understand the reasoning). Those "Wolverines" are:
    Mystique- who is on a personal mission to return her late lover Destiny to life (retcon)
    Sabertooth- who no longer wants to kill (unless Ben Reilly is involved, I guess)
    Lady Deathstrike- who is a fair representation of the LD we all love and loathe.
    Daken-who is some child of Wolverine's from the 40's?
    X23-who I'm told is a female clone of Wolverine
    The "Paradise" kidnappers are
    Shogun-who has the spirit of the demon Ogun stuck in his head
    Fantomelle-who can move through six dimensions and is addicted to stealing with her psychically bound fox pal
    Other guys who the authors didn't bother to flesh out enough to make me remember them

SO how do you rate a comic book? I'll rate on a school-grade scale
    Art: B+ Most of the art is A or A+ but it is so inconsistent between issues (with different artists half the time) that the sum of the parts is less than the whole.
    Story: C- It isn't a fail, but it is unfocused and scattered.
    Dialog: C+ I could follow it, but some of it was just dumb.